• Wednesday, 29 April
  • -
  • 06 May 2020
  • Webinar
  • With Everything Up For Grabs. The Green New Deal(s) the World Needs Now

  • The new weekly webinar series, organized by transform! europe together with Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung Brussels and New York Offices, focused on developing internationalist visions for Green New Deal(s) that will work for the whole planet in the post-Covid era.

    While entering a new decade, humanity is facing unprecedented challenges, the ongoing climate crisis and the start of the devastating COVID-19 pandemic are reshaping our world, exacerbating inequalities and fueling the rise of authoritarianism and nationalistic politics.

    Recently, a powerful narrative has emerged as a call for change: The Green New Deal, which carries with it the hope to deliver deep social and economic transformations. 

    Today, the need to shape program(s)that conveys a comprehensive de-carbonization and restructuring of our economies as well as our social system while preserving the climate from collapsing has become imperative.

     

    Programme

    CHAPTER 1: Wednesday, 29 April 2020

    11:00 AM EDT / 5:00 PM CET / 10 PM ICT
    RED-GREEN NEW DEAL(S)
    with Walden Bello, Thea Riofrancos and Grace Blakeley

    CHAPTER 2: Wednesday, 6 May 2020

    10:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM EST / 7:00 PM CET
    STATE INTERVENTION AND PUBLIC SERVICES IN THE POST-COVID ERA
    with Mike Davis, Maude Barlow and Martin Schirdewan

     

     

     

    This webinar series is co-sponsored by Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung and transform! europe, organized in collaboration with the Institute for Policy StudiesCanadian Centre for Policy AlternativesInstitute for Agriculture and Trade Policy and the Transnational Institute (TNI).


Related articles

Ecology

Economic Governance

Productive Transformation